The St Benet’s Scholarship

Founded in 1897, St Benet’s Hall was the only Benedictine institution of higher education in the UK. A constituent part of Oxford University, it closed in 2022. 

The Foundation has established an undergraduate scholarship for the benefit of pupils from the following State schools: 

Bishop Ullathorne Catholic School, Coventry, West Midlands

Blessed Hugh Faringdon Catholic School, Reading, Berkshire

Cardinal Hume School, Gateshead, Tyne & Wear

St Anselm’s Catholic School, Canterbury, Kent

St Bede’s School, Redhill, Surrey

St Benedict Academy, Derby, Derbyshire

St Benedict’s Catholic High School, Alcester, Warwickshire

St Benedict’s Catholic School, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

St Benedict’s Catholic High School, Whitehaven, Cumbria

St Benedict’s Roman Catholic High School, Linwood, Renfrewshire

St Benedict’s Sixth Form College, Bradford, West Yorkshire

St Benet Biscop Catholic Academy, Bedlington, Northumberland

St Bernard’s Catholic Grammar School, Slough, Berkshire

St Bernard’s High School, Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex

St Leonard’s Catholic School, Durham, County Durham

St Robert of Newminster School, Washington, Tyne & Wear

St Wilfrid’s Catholic School, Crawley, West Sussex

St Wilfrid’s Catholic High School, Featherstone, West Yorkshire

St Wilfrid’s Roman Catholic College, South Shields, Tyne & Wear

There will also be an annual Benedictine lecture at Oxford named in honour of St Benet’s Hall.

A panel of advisors has been established to assist the Board in selecting the Scholars and maintaining the scholarship fund. 

%d bloggers like this: